SE
SmartEngagement
Working Papers
CaseWare Working Papers
Analytics
CaseWare Cloud Analytics
Analytics.AI
CaseWare Analytics.AI
Time
CaseWare Cloud Time
PCR
OnPoint PCR (Preparation Compilation Review)
RCT
CaseWare  ReviewCompTax
PBC
CaseWare  PBC
SE
SmartEngagement
Working Papers
CaseWare Working Papers
Analytics
CaseWare Cloud Analytics
Analytics.AI
CaseWare Analytics.AI
Time
CaseWare Cloud Time
PCR
OnPoint PCR (Preparation Compilation Review)
RCT
CaseWare  ReviewCompTax
PBC
CaseWare  PBC

Deactivate or delete accounts

When someone leaves your organization, you should deactivate or delete their Cloud account. When deleting a staff member's account, you should also transfer the ownership of any Google or SharePoint documents to another staff member.

Deactivate a staff member's account

Deactivating a staff member's account prevents them from logging into Cloud, but preserves their profile, files, activities and discussions. You may want to deactivate a user if they are going on extended leave. Contact accounts cannot be deactivated, only deleted. For more information, see Delete a staff or contact account.

To deactivate a staff member's account:

  1. Ensure that you have the Staff Admin role or equivalent privileges.

  2. From the Cloud menu, select Staff.

  3. Select the user whose status you want to change, then select Edit ().

    Edit a user from their menu

  4. From the Status drop-down, select Inactive.

    To deactivate a user, change their Status

  5. Select Save.

You have deactivated the user. The user will be unable to sign in to Cloud.

Delete a staff or contact account

Deleting a user's account removes it from the system. The user will be unable to sign in to Cloud or access any SmartSync-enabled Working Papers files. Any files, activities and discussions the user created will remain visible. You may want to delete a user when their relationship with your organization ends.

To delete a staff member or contact:

  1. Ensure that you have the Staff Admin role or equivalent privileges.

  2. From the Cloud menu, select Staff or Contacts.

  3. Select the user you want to delete, then select More Actions | Delete.

    Deleting a user

  4. In the confirmation dialog, select Yes.

You have deleted a user.

Reassign a staff member’s work

If you’ve just deleted a staff member's account, their file requests and tasks should be reassigned. File requests are reassigned using the file’s share settings, while tasks are reassigned by editing the task directly.

To re-assign a file request:

  1. Ensure you have the Entity Access role or equivalent rights to the entity.

  2. From the Cloud menu, select Activities.

  3. From the Activities drop-down, select File Requests.

    Select File Requests from the Activities menu

  4. Select the file request you want to reassign. From the file’s menu, select Share ().

    Select the share icon to reassign a file request

  5. Select the user you want to reassign the request to, then select Assign roles to (#) and the appropriate roles.

    Assign roles to an activity

  6. Select Share.

You have reassigned the file request.

To reassign a task:

  1. Ensure you have the Entity Access role or equivalent rights to the entity.

  2. From the Cloud menu, select Activities.

  3. From the Activities drop-down, select Tasks.

    Select Tasks from the Activites drop-down menu

  4. Select the task you want to reassign, then select Edit ().

    LEdit a Task to reassign it

  5. In the Assignees field, clear any users you want to remove from the task and add the users you want to reassign the task to.

    Add or remove users from the Assignees field

  6. Select Save.

You have reassigned the user's task.

Transfer Google or SharePoint document ownership

Ownership of Google or SharePoint documents associated with a deleted or deactivated account can be transferred to another staff member. By transferring ownership, you won't lose access to any important materials. Before you can transfer ownership of a document to another user, that user must have SharePoint or Google integration enabled. To learn more, see Integrate productivity tools with Cloud.

To transfer document ownership:

  1. Ensure you have the Owner role on the entity associated with the file you want to transfer.

  2. From the Cloud menu, select Files.

  3. Choose the file whose ownership you want to transfer, then select More Actions | Transfer.

    Transfer a document's ownership

  4. A dialog opens listing all applicable users. Select the user you want to transfer file ownership to, then select OK.

You have transferred the document's ownership.

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
This content is exclusively related to and has been filtered out. Select the PRODUCTS dropdown in the top navigation to modify your filter settings.

Stay Connected

Subscribe to receive updates on the latest articles and news for CaseWare products.

Your download will start immediately after you subscribe.

Please enter a valid email.
No thanks, I just want the file.