Lockdown the engagement

Once all work on the engagement is complete, you can lockdown the file. Select the title to open the Engagement Properties dialog, then select Lockdown.

How to lock the engagement file.

Once you lock the file,

  • the Lock icon () displays next to the title.

  • the (Lockdown Information) button displays in the Engagement Properties dialog. This button opens a dialog that shows an activity log for lock and unlock events.

  • you can no longer make any changes in the engagement. You only have view rights.

  • all other staff members with access to the engagement can no longer make any changes in the file and only have view rights.

Staff members can unlock a locked file at any point in time - provided that they have access to the engagement. For example, to make a few changes based on last minute updates from the client. To unlock the file, select the title to open the Engagement Properties dialog and select Unlock.

Engagement Properties dialog for a locked engagement.

You can also select Lockdown Information to display a dialog showing:

  • the date of any lock or unlock action.
  • the user initiating the lock or unlock action.
  • the reason for any unlock action.

Lockdown Activity log.