Rename, delete or replace files

After you create a file, you can rename, delete or replace it, as needed.

Before you start, navigate to Cloud menu () | Files and select the appropriate entity using the entity drop-down.

Note: If you want to rename a Working Papers file that you have published to Cloud, we recommend you convert the file to a non-sync state and rename it using Working Papers, rather than renaming the file in Cloud. For more information, see Rename a File.

Rename files

You can edit file names and descriptions to better reflect the contents of the file.

To edit a file name and description:

  1. Select the file you want to edit using the check box.

  2. In the file details pane, select Edit ().

  3. Enter a new name and description for the file, then select Save.

Delete files

If you no longer require a file, you can delete it.

To delete files:

  1. Select the files you want to delete.

  2. In the file details pane, select More actions () | Delete.

  3. Confirm deletion of the files.

If you remove a file by mistake, recover it from the Recycle Bin. See Recover a previous version or deleted file for more information.

Replace files

If you have a newer version of a file you want to upload, you can replace the original file.

To replace a file:

  1. Select the file you want to replace.

  2. In the file details pane, select More actions () | Replace.

  3. If you're uploading a file less than 1GB in size, select the Select Files button or drag and drop the file.

  4. If you’re uploading a file larger than 1GB:

    1. Select Use advanced uploader.

    2. Select the files you want to upload, then select Add.

Delete previous versions of a file

If you have replaced a file and no longer need the old versions of the file, you can delete them.

Warning: If you delete a previous version, you will not be able to recover it later.

To delete a previous version of a file:

  1. Select the file that has previous versions you want to delete.

  2. In the file details pane, expand the Previous Versions section.

  3. Select More actions () for the version you want to delete, and then select Delete.

  4. In the confirmation dialog, select Yes.

You can also delete all previous versions of a file at once.

To delete all previous versions of a file:

  1. Select the file that has previous versions you want to delete.

  2. In the file details pane, select More actions () | Delete All Old Versions.

  3. In the confirmation dialog, select Yes.