SE
SmartEngagement
Working Papers
CaseWare Working Papers
Analytics
CaseWare Cloud Analytics
Analytics.AI
CaseWare Analytics.AI
Time
CaseWare Cloud Time
PCR
OnPoint PCR (Preparation Compilation Review)
RCT
CaseWare  ReviewCompTax
PBC
CaseWare  PBC
SE
SmartEngagement
Working Papers
CaseWare Working Papers
Analytics
CaseWare Cloud Analytics
Analytics.AI
CaseWare Analytics.AI
Time
CaseWare Cloud Time
PCR
OnPoint PCR (Preparation Compilation Review)
RCT
CaseWare  ReviewCompTax
PBC
CaseWare  PBC

Transferring ownership of a workspace

Entity owners in Cloud manage all of the content under their entities. They can give and remove access to other staff members and client contacts, and they manage all of the files and activities under that entity.

If staff roles change and entity owners are reassigned to different client engagements, you may need to transfer the Owner role from one staff member to another.

Assigning a workspace-specific role to a user

You can grant the Ownerrole to staff members to grant them management rights for a workspace. Multiple staff members can hold the Owner role on a workspace in Cloud.

To grant access to an entity:

  1. Ensure that you have the Owner role or the equivalent privileges for the entity.

  2. From the Cloud menu (), select Entities.

  3. Select the entity you want to grant access to, then select Share ().

    The Share icon displayed on the Entities page.

  4. Search for the groups, staff members or contacts you want to grant access to, then select Assign Roles to (#) and choose the appropriate role. Any roles that users already have due to previous settings appear under Inherited.

    Select a role to grant it to your user or group.

  5. Select Share.

You have granted the Owner role to the chosen staff member. They can now grant other users access to this entity or to content under it. They can also create, modify, and delete activities and files for this entity.

Removing a workspace-specific role from a user

You can remove security roles from users in the same way that you can grant them. To remove the Owner role to complete this ownership transfer, you need to deselect the role in the Share dialog.

To remove entity roles from a user or group:

The steps below describe the process for removing an entity role from a staff member. You can remove contacts or groups from entities by selecting Contacts or Groups instead.

  1. Ensure that you have the Owner role or equivalent privileges for the entity.

  2. From the Cloud menu, select Staff.

  3. Select the user you want to remove the role from, then select More Actions | Assign to Entities.

    Select Assign to Entities to modify entity assignments.

  4. In the Share dialog, select a user, then clear the appropriate checkboxes.

    Deselect a role to remove it from the user for your selected entity. Permissions that the user will lose for this entity are displayed with a yellow background and strikethrough text.

  5. Select Share to save your changes.

You have removed the Owner role from the chosen staff member. They will no longer be able to grant other users access to this entity or to content under it. They also cannot create, modify, or delete activities or files for this entity.

Was this helpful?

Yes
No
This content is exclusively related to and has been filtered out. Select the PRODUCTS dropdown in the top navigation to modify your filter settings.

Stay Connected

Subscribe to receive updates on the latest articles and news for CaseWare products.

Your download will start immediately after you subscribe.

Please enter a valid email.
No thanks, I just want the file.